Skip to content

Intensive Art to Crown Exhibition


3-5p.m., July 26, 2014

ArtSeed’s Year-End Exhibition, 

Legacies and Living Spaces

Intensive Composite 1



Thursday, June 26 – Saturday, July 26, 2014

Closing Reception 3-5p.m., Saturday, July 26.

Two Installations at the Thoreau Center for Sustainability

(Corridor Gallery north of Café RX and east end of China Brotsky Gallery)

1012 Torney Ave., In the Presidio, San Francisco

Accessible by Muni lines 28, 30, 43 & 45 / The PresidiGo Shuttle

For more information call: Josefa: 415-656-9849 or

ArtSeed’s Office 415-409-1761 or Email:

Click for directions.


ArtSeed artists and students at Leola M. Havard Early Education School, the San Francisco Public Montessori School, and the Montessori Academy, have recently explored heraldry, architectural interior model-making and music. The composer Anton Webern, the architect Andrea Palladio, and the writer Gertrude Stein, were introduced at the project’s beginning as trail-blazing creative giants whose work inspired the children to make their own paintings for display and mixed-media accordion books which were proudly taken home. This collaboration with the San Francisco Contemporary Music Players for their Yerba Buena Center for the Arts concert led us to explore heraldry, a medieval art form still used on private homes and civic centers to acknowledge pedigree and achievement. With whimsy and pride we used positive and negative shapes (or sound and silence) to learn how structural elements in all art forms help us to express our own unique and timeless nobility. Mildred Howard’s ArtSeed’s Fine Arts Summer Intensive presentation will inspire a crowning collaborative piece on display the week before the Closing Reception, Saturday, June 26, 3-5pm.


Partners: Leola M. Havard Early Education School, SF Public Montessori School, Willie Mays Boys and Girls Club, Hunters Point Shipyard, SF Montessori Academy, The Presidio Trust, S.F. Contemporary Music Players, The Thoreau Center for Sustainability, di Rosa Preserve, SCRAP. Featured Artists: Timothy Abeyta, Joseph Aponte, Bill Baldewicz, Jeff Castleman, Olaitan Callender-Scott, Songhee Han, Charles “Trey” Houston, Kathryn Kain, Susanne Kohn, Caroline Liddell, Janis Lipzin, Margaret Ma, Shiri Mordechay, Julia Parker, Andrew Romanoff, Todd Standish, Maximilien Volckaert, and others.

Co-curators: Josefa Vaughan and Marja van der Loo.