Skip to content

Staff & Board


Josefa Vaughan, Founder and Executive Director: Josefa has recently returned to the Board to serve as secretary until a new officer is found for that position.  Her classical and cutting-edge art projects began connecting gifted and vulnerable communities in the year 2000.  Despite her teenage homelessness, she has lectured widely, is a Djerassi Resident Artist Program alum, has won Awards from the San Francisco Arts Commission, and has been a juror for the California Arts Council.

Gino Bella, Logistics and Outreach Manager. Gino is the father of two young ArtSeed artists, Louisse and Olivia. He manages ArtSeed events and constantly tries to reach out to past and potential partners to help the non-profit carry out its mission to connect the gifted and the vulnerable communities together through art.

Jennifer Spencer, Office Assistant. First a typesetter, then a legal secretary, Jennifer, a Taoist Tai Chi practitioner is a native San Franciscan who developed her career in Great Britain. She has happily been vital to ArtSeed’s contact relationship management system upgrades. Her exacting attention to detail is helping us to update our data and move to a more sophisticated and personable way of reaching out to our growing list of beloved constituents.

Stacey Carter, Communications and Youth Council Adviser

Jacob Spies, Lead Teaching Artist 



Edna Arterberry, Community Elder - Edna is a recently retired social worker for foster families (which she did for 20 years) at the Department of Human Services, City of San Francisco. Prior to this she has worked in Bayview Hunters Point for over 21 years as manager of California Association of Health, Education, Employment and Dignity. She was on the advisory board of San Francisco General Hospital and the Southeast Health Center. She is actively involved in Cornerstone Baptist as a teacher for high school students and is a leader on the scholarship committee. She hopes that ArtSeed can touch as many lives as possible through art and community service through commitment, love and success at creating a healthier environment.

Sabine Gysens, Ph.D., Outreach and Fundraising Committee - Sabine is a native of Belgium but has called San Francisco home for more than 20 years. She received her doctorate degree from the Academy of Paris (summa cum laude) and came to the Bay Area to pursue post-doctoral work in Neuropsychology. She has worked as a Clinical Neuropsychologist in private practice, has consulted for more than a decade with CPMC’s rehabilitation department, taught medical students at UCSF as an assistant professor, and published research and spoke at conferences in her field. She has also pursued training and education in art curation, a passion that is long-standing. Sabine has curated several art shows in the area and continues to pursue projects and partnerships with art organizations and artists.

Kevin Quan, Treasurer – Kevin has been the finance manager for a private real estate investment firm and has experience with nonprofit and public affairs organizations. He holds B.A.s from UC Davis in Political Science and Communications. As a San Francisco native, Kevin is active with a number of local Chinese organizations.

Barbra A. Richardson, Bayview Hunters Point Community Liaison – Barbra A. Richardson worked for the University of California School of Dentistry for 35 years, 25 of them as Admissions Officer. She volunteers at the Leola Havard Early Education School in Bayview Hunters Point where her grandson, Kali Richardson, has been an ArtSeed 2012 Apprentice. She has also volunteered at the American Conservatory Theatre for many years.

William Bicknell, IT Manager / Systems Administrator – Bill is an IT professional with over 20 years of experience applying technical solutions to enable more efficient business functions and support office infrastructure for small businesses as well as at the enterprise level. He grew up in upstate New York, but has called San Francisco home for 27 years, more than half his life. He developed a passion for the creative arts as a child and while that was not his major in college he was able to take photography courses at the College of Fine Arts at Cornell. All the visual arts, especially photography, have held a special place in his heart. Bill also currently participates at board level at two non-profit addiction recovery organizations. He would like to use his IT skills to help ArtSeed be even more effective in its mission to empower people through art.

ArtSeed’s Founder and Executive Director Josefa Vaughan recently returned to the Board to serve as Secretary until a new officer is found for that position.

ADVISORY BOARD: Julie Blankenship, Charles Boone, Adam Frey, Tony Grant, Paul Griffin, Jeff Hastings, Malcolm McAfee, Dave Parker, Bob Stenson, Arwen Vaughan, Ann Wettrich, Steven Wolf, Allison Wyckoff


Josefa Vaughan – Executive Director
Paola Perez
Louisse Bella
Sara Carasso
Liora Ami

ArtSeed’s Youth Council is an exciting program for 6th-12th grade students looking to get involved with public programming, student government, and artistic development! The Council meets monthly to collaborate on projects associated with ArtSeed. We are currently looking for new members! If you are interested, please don’t hesitate to email us at or call us: 415.656.9849.

PAST BOARD MEMBERS – Matthew Boriskin, President (2008-2017) and Secretary (2014 – 2017),  Ben Berkeley, Legal Council, Chair (2013) / Acting President (2014 – 2017), Anna-Lisa Froman, Treasurer (2005-2007), Georg Gottschalk, President (2007-2009), Justin Hoover, Artist Advisor, Development and Fundraising Officer (2004-2007), James Bo Joves, Financial Planning and Marketing Officer (2006-2009), Laura Kamian, Founding Treasurer (2001-2003), Mehrzad Khajenoori, Bookeeper (2004-2006) Treasurer (2006-2007), Marissa Kunz, Founding Artist, Secretary and Program Officer (2001-2011), Cris Larson, Treasurer (2003-2004), Bonnie Milstein, Development (2008-2010), Diane Scarritt, Community Liason (2005-2008) , Lydia Titcomb, President, (2003-2006), Todd Standish (2013-2016)